BREAKING: INEC Deregisters UPP, PPA, 72 Other Political Parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has on Thursday, deregistered 74 political parties ahead of the 2021 Anambra governorship and 2023 general elections.

With the new decision, Nigeria now has 18 political parties, according to the INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, at a press conference in Abuja.

The successful parties are Accord Party, Action Alliance, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance and Allied Peoples Movement.

Others are Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, National Rescue Movement, Peoples Democratic Party, Peoples Redemption Party, Social Democratic Party, Young Progressives Party, and Zenith Labour Party.

According to him, 75 parties didn’t satisfy the requirement but one went to court.

Mahmood also said the Booth Party, which registered after 2019, would continue to exist

“Nigeria now has 18 parties,” Mahmood stated.

Details later

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Kindly Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: